Will the real Tulowitzki please stand up?

Tulo again! Two run homer to left and you can see the left fielder just waves it off as if to say, ‘ah, that’s outta here!’ Kind of cute. And the double play with the bad hop. It’s like a whole new Tulowitzki. I have a feeling that this IS the real Troy Tulowitzki.

I’m not too sure how I feel about the new slide rule though. An automatic double play was called today because Antoan Richardson slid into Darwin Barney’s feet at 2nd base. He CLEARLY wasn’t sliding into 2nd base and WAS targeting the 2nd baseman. I’m all for safety. Imagine it was my son out there! I’m sure the older players are going to feel it is taking away from the game though.

Ok, Floyd, pretty good. I can understand the dilemma between he and Sanchez for the starting rotation. But if Sanchez goes to the bullpen again for the whole season, I don’t know, will his heart be in it? And that’ll be another year without him being able to develop further. It won’t be an easy transition for him from the bullpen to the starting rotation mid-season if needed. My vote still goes to Sanchez, but I’m kind of feeling like Floyd needs a chance given his bad luck with injuries. Can he last the whole season though?

The more I watch Colabello, I think I know why he took so long to get to the majors. He had good numbers but he looks sleepy all the time! He’s got kind of a sleepy face, with his mouth open a bit. And he doesn’t act with much command. He seems kind of limp and probably it gives the impression that he’s not that committed. Sometimes, impressions count, and I think he’s just a bit loosey goosey. Compare him to Tulo who looks good even on the rare occasion when he misses a play. Hard to forget that game during the playoffs last season when Colabello went over and showed the umpire his empty glove wondering why he wasn’t calling the runner out. How embarrassing.

 

Leave a Reply

